Christian, Values

Influence

vlcsnap-2014-07-28-11h46m41s193 vlcsnap-2014-07-28-11h44m11s90

Hold your ground, hold your ground! Sons of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers! I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down! But it is not this day! This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you *stand, Men of the West!*

-Aragorn, son of Arathorn, heir of Isildur

Whenever I remember this part of the Lord of the Rings, I always get goosebumps and shivers because of the sheer awesomeness of the moment. But I also wonder what was going through the mind of Aragorn as he was facing the army of Mordor. He must have been very uncertain of the victory. Surely, he was also very frightened by the numbers of the opposing army. But then, what I admired most about him was how he reacted. Yes, he was uncertain and he had fear, but he was very clear with what he needs his men and himself to do, that is too fight, and so he roused his army to stand with him and fight.

John Maxwell said “Leadership is influence.” And in the same way that Aragorn influenced every Man of the West, the greatest leaders in history too influenced their people. A lot of revolutions, wars, and innovations happened because of the influence of one man, whether that is because of their position in society or relationship with their constituents, it is their influence that  causes people to follow them.

And so I want to take time to thank one of the people who had a strong influence in my life, my mentor and leader, Joey Molina, who did not just encouraged me and equipped me, he also empowered me by saying that I too am a leader. And if there is one word that encapsulates everything he taught me, it is the word “serve”.

548882_10151307799929896_14508913_n

He is an example of a servant-leader who always placed serving the students first. Whenever the need arises, his first instinct is to serve the students. If you know me, I have no issue about serving. I love to serve and share what I have, but maybe the reason why I love serving more now is because of the influence and impartation this man had in my life. He would serve me by driving for me sometimes, the occasional treats, going out of his way to coach me whenever I am asked to speak on stage, telling me the hard-to-swallow truths that helped me become more Christlike, and encouraging me to do my best for God.

I can say that I will not be the leader that I am now if it weren’t for this man. He was the one who looked at me and told me “you are leader, Charls.” He would always remind me that it is not about me, but about God and serving to advance His Kingdom, and he’d always point me to God and His enabling grace when I feel that I can’t do it. 

So, thank you Joey Mo for being a great leader! Thank you for telling me that I am a leader too. Thank you for everything you taught me and for influencing to become more Christlike in all of my dealings. Thank you for leading me through the way you served me.

P.S.: How about you? Who inspired you to be a leader? Maybe today is a great day to be the one to encourage them! 🙂


For more leadership blogs:

  1. Stuff My Dad Told Me by Joseph Bonifacio.
  2. WATERLINE: The Marks of Leadership by Perci Paras
  3. Lead to Leave by Paolo Punzalan
  4. He Must Become Greater by Rinnah Ramirez
  5. To Lead is to Lean, Learn, Live, and Love by Carla Peralejo-Bonifacio
  6. I Don’t Think So by Jekoy Valle
  7. Deny Yourself by Dennis Sy
  8. Raising Leaders Right In Your Home by Jenn Punzalan
  9. Take Charge by Elle Cabiling
  10. Failures and Beginnings by Sofia Paderes
  11. He Must Become Greater by Rinnah Ramirez
Standard

4 thoughts on “Influence

  1. Pingback: LEAD TO LEAVE - PAOLOPUNZALAN.COM

  2. Pingback: Deny Yourself | Act Like a Man

  3. Pingback: Take Charge – Set Apart

  4. Pingback: Blog Round Up: Leadership | Jekker

Leave a Reply

